Reviews

review

Reviews

Borders Beyond

“Nice place to stay, lots of french ppl there. Staff is friendly, really clean there”  – (Germany August 2014)

“Borders Beyond is a lovely little place with good location, friendly staff and great atmosphere! It was the first place I stayed in in New Zealand and I couldn’t have chosen a better place to begin my Working Holiday adventure over here. I received so much help, support and warmth during my first weeks and it only took a few days until I felt like I was part of a fantastic community! 5 stars for my second home 🙂 ” (Malin January 2014)

“auberge chaleureuse, accueil personnalisé et pleins de bons conseils de la part du gérant qui ne lésine pas sur les blagues! Je recommande vivement cette auberge sympathique et économique à tous les français qui ne maîtrisent pas encore la langue du pays et voudraient avoir tous les bons plans et conseils utiles avant de partir à l’aventure!” (France Novembre 2013)

“We, as a family of 5, spent a week in Auckland and felt comfortable with the friendly staff. The facilities are adequate and complete.  Most importantly, given the availability of the rooms, we were upgraded to family rooms without additional costs. We are happy that the Management was generous and flexible to give us this surprising upgrade to ensure that our stay in the hostel was a rewarding one.  Thanks”.  – Andrew Thien & Family (Malaysia) (July 2012)

This small backpackers gets you by surprise! nothing flashy, no the big fuzz or the bars as the big ones… But what an atmosphere! just like a family, everybody was cooking to share! everyone gets to party together, the owner will help you for anything you would need. Nice BBQ area, just such a homy and relax,quiet place(even close to CBD) .
The bedroom look like old fashion alpine chalet with the wood. bunk bed in the six bed dorm.
we had a locker as well (it was very safe, as it is in NZ).
I really loved it! David, thanks for the tips for the Sky tower discount, and the cheap drinks at the downtown pubs! Really appreciated. thanks for everything! I’ll be back! ” (anonymous February 2012)

“I’d originally planned to email you today to give you stick about us whipping your butts in the RWC Quater Final. Seeing as that didn’t happen – I thought I’d write you a review on your hostel instead, Fantastic hostel, with very friendly staff who are more than willing to go the extra mile to ensure you have a good time. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the (almost free) BBQ on Saturday afternoon ensured we ate like kings at least one day. This place comes highly recommended by myself and the other 3 rugby fans I was with.Cheers”(Mike England 10 October 2011)

Very welcoming hostel. The manager is fantastic, helpful, friendly and funny. Just outside the city, but near lively bars and restaurants, although not so close you get disturbed by the noise. ” (anonymous from England 24 February 2011)

TripAdvisor

Excellent experience. David is a fantastic manager. He even helped arrange for me to get a ride to the airport. The place is very friendly otherwise and had a nice, warm atmoshere. Also, Ponsonby is a very cool neighborhood and one of the better parts of Auckland. A couple nights before, I made the mistake of going to one of the backpacker ghetto places downtown, the ones Lonely Planet warn you about, and it was really awful and made it very obvious that Borders Beyond is very good.” (Joe USA, 22 December 2010)

“Really helpful to get started in NZ. They give you recommendations, forms and everything you need to set up your stay here, awesome. A must do to start.” (16 December 2010)

“Cheap, quiet and fun all I needed!” (6 June 2010)

“The place to stay in Auckland! The staff are amazing and extremely helpful. It has a homely atmosphere and is a great value for the money!Clean and tidy and only a short walk from the city centre. I will definitely stay there again and recommend this place highly for other travelers.” (31 March 2009)

“It was a really nice time in this hostel and the staff is very helpful.The common room invite to stay and meet other backpacker.If I will come back to Auckland I will stay definitely here again.” (24 March 2009)

“The owner was very helpful with advice on the area etc. all the staff were friendly. the kitchen was great!” (24 March 2009)

The best Hostel I ever stayed in the last 6 Month!!! They are all so friendly and helpful! It has a homely atmosphere and is a great value for the money! Thanks for the great time!!!!”(24 March 2009)

“Best Hostel we have been to since we have been traveling. The staff will do anything to help you, and its also the cheapest in the whole of Auckland!! definitely come here!” (22 March 2009)

This place was awesome!!! The owners were very friendly, accommodating and welcoming! They even helped us to buy a car! This place is great value for money and has a homely atmosphere. It is in a fantastic peaceful location a short walk from the city centre. We will be staying again in the future!” (19 March 2009)